Coming Home

Written by:

From a Facebook group page posting on April 11, 2024

Vietnam Veterans War

Vietnam war veterans  ·   · 

Going home

You and 3.4K others viewed this     176 commented 127 shared.


My reply to the Facebook post:

Yep, but it was all a blur. You were in the war zone one minute then rushed through the outgoing processing center where they took apart your bags and had you re-pack it all (looking for contraband… you don’t want to know).

Once you got processed you had to wait for loading, then wait for takeoff, then wait to be safe in the air away from possible attack. It was a long flight home, only to go through another processing center and get your bearings as to where to go for a flight to your home.

I landed in San Francisco and was headed to Detroit.

The flight to Detroit was my longest flight, even though it was a shorter flight…

I was going from being a soldier in a war to being a new father, student, and ex-military. It was a scary flight not knowing what awaited me in civilian life.

And I had not been fighting; I had worked in a safe headquarter office the whole 14 months. I can’t imagine what it was like for the soldiers who have been fighting, killing, and suffering for their 12 months.

It took me a long time to get over the guilt of having that cushy job and coming home without any physical or mental injuries.

That was so long ago, yet it was yesterday… vets know what I mean.


If you have similar stories of coming home from war, please share it with us in the comments. I may help other vets who have been struggling with military feelings and reading our stories might help them.

Thank You

Jose A Munoz, from Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Photo of men and plane is from the Facebook group posting.

Leave a comment

Latest Articles

Previous: